Wait For It: The Hamilton Mixtape

Jenna Glazier ’20/ Emertainment Monthly Staff Writer

On Thursday, creator of Hamilton and Broadway icon, Lin Manuel Miranda, announced the release date for the highly anticipated Hamilton Mixtape. In his classic fashion, Miranda tweeted about the release date and the pre-order date, which started November 4, 2016!

Already, celebrities have been tweeting about their involvement with the project and their enthusiasm surrounding Miranda’s latest groundbreaking piece of work. Even though the actual mix tape won’t be released until December 2nd, the entire track list has been made available so it’s easier to dream about all of the magical music and hypnotizing harmonies that are about to come dancing into our lives. The album’s track list includes:

  1. No John Trumbull (Intro) — The Roots
  2. My Shot (feat. Busta Rhymes, Joell Ortiz, and Nate Ruess) [Rise Up Remix] — The Roots
  3. Wrote My Way Out — Nas, Dave East, Lin-Manuel Miranda, and Aloe Blacc
  4. Wait for It — Usher
  5. An Open Letter (feat. Shockwave) [Interlude] — Watsky
  6. Satisfied (feat. Miguel and Queen Latifah) – Sia
  7. Dear Theodosia (feat. Ben Folds) — Regina Spektor
  8. Valley Forge (Demo) — Lin-Manuel Miranda
  9. It’s Quiet Uptown — Kelly Clarkson
  10. That Would Be Enough — Alicia Keys
  11. Immigrants (We Get rhe Job Done) — K’naan, Snow Tha Product, Riz MC, Residente
  12. You’ll Be Back — Jimmy Fallon and The Roots
  13. Helpless (feat. Ja Rule) — Ashanti
  14. Take a Break (Interlude) — !llmind
  15. Say Yes to This — Jill Scott
  16. Congratulations — Dessa
  17. Burn — Andra Day
  18. Stay Alive (Interlude) — J.PERIOD and Stro Elliot
  19. Slavery Battle (Demo) — Lin-Manuel Miranda
  20. Washington’s by Your Side – Wiz Khalifa
  21. History Has Its Eyes on You — John Legend
  22. Who Tells Your Story (feat. Common and Ingrid Michaelson) — The Root
  23. Dear Theodosia (Reprise) — Chance The Rapper and Francis and The Lights

With an album track list like that, I’m not sure how you can help but feel pretty lucky to be alive right now. We can’t help but be especially excited to hear Who Tells Your Story with Ingrid Michaelson and Common- can it get any better? Some other tracks at the top of our list would have to be Regina Spektor’s Dear Theodosia, Alicia Key’s That Would Be Enough, and Slavery Battle, performed by the man himself- Lin Manuel Miranda. The Hamilton Mixtape will most definitely create an even greater bridge between the gap separating musical theater, pop, and rap music. Miranda’s release of this new tape will only continue to introduce Broadway to completely new audiences and expand the horizons of theater kids around the world.

Not only has Miranda become a groundbreaking sensation in the theater world, but he is quickly taking pop culture by storm and we could not be more thrilled to hear his voice and writing in a totally different context through the Hamilton Mixtape. As the release date gets closer and closer, we can’t help but hope that Miranda might decide to release a couple of teasers. Already when you pre-order the mixtape you receive an immediate download of “My Shot” and “It’s Quiet Uptown.” I mean, how long can we actually wait for it?

To pre-order the Hamilton Mixtape on iTunes click here


Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *